Home

Join the Discussion

Latest Discussions

  • Christopher: Thank you for sharing information about ICON's project. Note that they plan to use large-scale 3D printing to build a 100-home community in El Salvador. Regarding rebar. While it is not needed for a one-story building, it could be used to secure the roof against severe weather. Prior ...

  • Chris, Thanks that is an interesting example. I would be curious to see the structural data on the walls. I noticed that they used  exterior steel beams for the roof. So  my guess is the concrete walls do not have enough strength to support the roof and  associated wind loads, etc...  But this  is just ...

  • In this example from ICON out of Austin, TX, it looks like they are not using any rebar but that they are building the walls with a corrugated internal design sandwiched between 2 straight concrete walls.  Probably fine in this application of a 1-story building.  Notice that they used wood beams for ...

  • We will be having our sixth and final free webinar in our series on sustainable reservoir sediment management. The sixth webinar will be Thursday, May 24, 2018:   10:00 AM PDT  |  11:00 AM, MDT  |  12:00 PM, CDT |  1:00 PM, EDT   Professor Rollin Hotchkiss, P.E. and Dr. George Annandale, P.E. ...

  • Mark and Ronald mention the possible response of masons and other skilled concrete workers in response to the likely arrival of large-scale 3D printing of what are now precast structural elements and, in some cases, entire structures. As with any major change, I expect initial strong negative reactions. ...

  • The web links to the introductory video, webinars, and frequently asked questions are all embedded in the PDF file. Just click your mouse on the titles that are underlined and highlighted in blue . If that doesn't work, try the following web link for the webinars: https://cires.colorado.edu/news/announcing-reservoir-sedimentation-management-webinar-series ...

EWRI Currents

ASCE SmartBrief - Latest Industry News

Find Us On

Follow Us on Twitter   Find Us on Facebook   Join Us on LinkedIn